Organizational Structure of APWSL

Workers and activists from Japan were very active in the founding of APWSL and there are now 16 national groups in the region. As a result, the international organization is subdivided into 4 regions. The regions (and countries) are as follows:

South Asia (Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka),

Southeast Asia (Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Thailand),

East Asia (Hong Kong, Japan, South Korea, Taiwan) and

Oceania (Australia, Fiji, New Zealand).

A Regional Coordinating Committee (RCT), including a representative from each region, two conveners and the APWSL Coordinator, who is employed for a three-year term, meets every eighteen months. One requirement of national and international coordinating committees is that there must be an equal number of female and male representatives.